The hotel and its surroundings

Hôtel Le Grand Large: a breathtaking view of the ocean and an unforgettable stay on the island of Oleron.

History

Set in a wild, natural location, Hotel Le Grand Large hides among the dunes on one of the most beautiful beaches on the Ile d'Oléron. Between forest, dunes and ocean, discover a family-run establishment, where well-being and a change of scenery are the key words.

The hotel was built in 1965 by Mr. and Mrs. Moreau, a passionate couple eager to embark on a large-scale project: to create an upscale hotel, with "Le Corbusier" architecture, which would blend perfectly into its natural environment, while offering excellent services. This adventure was crowned with success, as it would endure within the same family for more than 30 years.

From one family to another, Hotel Le Grand Large underwent a refresh in 2011 and would be managed for more than 10 years by the Bougnard family, who had fallen under the hotel's spell. Much more than just a renovation, its new owners were able to give it an identity, a soul as well as a strong family dimension, all characteristics that have won the hearts of its valued guests over time.

In its constant search for new nuggets, Le Boutique Hotels Collection, displays well-defined selection criteria, establishments on a human scale, located in attractive locations and steeped in history, all criteria perfectly met by the hotel in Oleron, which joins the collection in 2022.

Gastronomic restaurant, rooftop, enlarged terraces, carefully chosen decor... Hotel Le Grand Large opens a new page in its history with a fifth star to be today more than ever a Luxury hotel, a truly confidential and refined address.

Thanks to the bridge linking the island to the mainland, it's possible to get to Oleron by car or motorcycle. Follow the A10 freeway and exit at Saintes or La Rochelle, depending on where you're coming from (Saintes exit from Bordeaux and La Rochelle from Nantes or Paris, for example).

Discover the surrounding area

Golf d'Oléron

Located in the commune of Saint-Pierre d'Oléron, within sight of Fort-Boyard, the Golf d'Oléron faces the Atlantic islands. In an exceptional setting, along the ocean and the dunes of the east coast, the nine-hole Golf d'Oléron is a veritable jewel case of greenery and calm. Open all year round, the golf course covers some 30 hectares. In addition to its 9-hole sanctioned course, it also boasts two putting greens, a 6-hole school course and a 25-place driving range. Individual and group lessons are also available. They are supervised by a state-qualified instructor. Training courses are also organized.

Discover

Sea outings

Take advantage of your stay at Le Grand Large to escape by boat and discover the area from the Atlantic. Various islands and points of interest will be in your path: Ile d'Aix, Ile de Ré and all its must-sees, the Gironde estuary, Fort Boyard, etc. Our concierge service will help you organize your excursion according to your preferences, by sailboat or motorboat, with or without a skipper.

Chassiron lighthouse

Once you've climbed the 224 steps to the Chassiron lighthouse, you'll have a great view of the Ile de Ré and the surrounding area. I promise, it's worth the effort! The ocean, the surrounding islands and the coast all come into view. To see this lighthouse, you'll have to go to Saint-Denis-d'Oléron, at the Pointe de Chassiron.

Surfing in Oléron

The island of Oleron is one of the best spots for surfing on the Atlantic coast. You can surf all year round. There are surf schools all over the island, close to the best beaches: Plage des Huttes, Plage de Vert-Bois, Plage de Saint-Trojan-les-Bains. Whether you're a beginner or an experienced surfer, you're sure to enjoy the Atlantic waves. Some clubs also offer other marine activities, such as kayaking and stand-up paddling. Enjoy the ocean and its waves: pure moments of pleasure!

L'Hôtel et ses environs

Hôtel Le Grand Large : une vue imprenable sur l'océan et un séjour inoubliable sur l'île d'Oléron.

Histoire

Situé sur un emplacement naturel et sauvage, l’hôtel Le Grand Large se cache au milieu des dunes sur l’une des plus belles plages de l’Ile d’Oléron. Entre forêt, dunes et océan, partez à la découverte d’un établissement à dimension familiale, où bien-être et dépaysement sont les maîtres mots.

L’hôtel a été construit en 1965 par Monsieur et Madame Moreau, un couple de passionnés désireux de se lancer dans un projet d’envergure : créer un hôtel haut de gamme, à l’architecture « Le Corbusier », qui s’inscrira parfaitement dans son environnement naturel, tout en proposant des prestations d’excellence. Une aventure couronnée de succès puisqu’elle perdurera au sein de cette même famille pendant plus de 30 ans.

D’une famille à une autre, l’hôtel Le Grand Large connaît un rafraîchissement en 2011 et sera géré pendant plus de 10 ans par la famille Bougnard, tombée sous le charme de cet hôtel. Bien plus que des travaux de rénovation, ses nouveaux propriétaires ont su lui apporter une identité, une âme ainsi qu’une dimension familiale forte, autant de caractéristiques qui ont su conquérir le cœur de ses chers hôtes au fil du temps.

En constante recherche de nouvelles pépites, Le Boutique Hotels Collection, affiche des critères de sélection bien définis, des établissements à taille humaine, situés dans des lieux attractifs et chargés d’histoire, autant de critères que remplit parfaitement l’hôtel oléronais, qui rejoint la collection en 2022.

Restaurant gastronomique, rooftop, agrandissement des terrasses, décoration choisie avec soin… L’hôtel Le Grand Large ouvre une nouvelle page de son histoire avec une cinquième étoile pour être aujourd'hui plus que jamais un hôtel de Luxe, véritable adresse confidentielle et raffinée.

Grâce au pont reliant l'île au continent, il est possible de se rendre sur Oléron en voiture ou en moto. Suivez l'autoroute A10 et sortez à Saintes ou à la Rochelle selon l'endroit d'où vous venez (sortie Saintes depuis Bordeaux et La Rochelle depuis Nantes ou Paris par exemple.)

Découvrez les alentours

Le golf d'Oléron

Situé sur la commune de Saint-Pierre d’Oléron, à portée de regard du Fort-Boyard, le golf d’Oléron fait face aux îles de l’Atlantique. Dans un cadre exceptionnel, le long de l’océan et des dunes de la côte Est, le Golf d’Oléron, homologué de neuf trous est un véritable écrin de verdure et de calme. Ouvert toute l’année, le golf s’étend sur environ 30 hectares. Au-delà de son parcours homologué de 9 trous, il compte également deux putting greens, un parcours école 6 trous et un practice de 25 places. Des cours individuels et collectifs vous sont aussi proposés. Ils sont encadrés par un professeur diplômé d’Etat. Des stages y sont également organisés.

Découvrir

Le phare du Chassiron

Le phare du Chassiron vous offrira une belle vue sur l'île de Ré et les alentours, une fois effectuée l'ascension des 224 marches. Promis, le jeu en vaut la chandelle ! L'océan, les îles alentour et la côte s'offrent à vos yeux. Pour voir ce phare, il faudra vous rendre à Saint-Denis-d'Oléron, au niveau de la pointe de Chassiron.

Les sorties en mer

Profitez de votre séjour au Grand Large pour vous évader en bateau et partez à la découverte des lieux depuis l'Atlantique. Différents points d'intérêt et îles se présenteront sur votre passage : l'île d'Aix, l'île de Ré et tous ses incontournables, l'estuaire de la Gironde, le Fort Boyard, etc. Notre conciergerie, vous accompagne pour organiser votre excursion selon vos préférences, en voilier ou en bateau à moteur, avec ou sans skipper.

Le surf à Oléron

L'île d'Oléron fait partie des meilleurs spots pour faire du surf sur la côte Atlantique. Vous pouvez le pratiquer toute l'année. Des écoles de surf sont présentes un peu partout, à proximité des meilleures plages : la plage des Huttes, la plage de Vert-Bois, la plage de Saint-Trojan-les-Bains. Quel que soit votre niveau, débutant ou confirmé, vous vous régalerez dans les vagues de l'Atlantique. Certains clubs vous proposent également d'autres activités marines, comme le kayak et le stand-up paddle. Profitez de l'océan et de ses vagues : ce seront de purs moments de plaisir !